State of Nevada requires all applicants (including former
law enforcement officers) to attend a mandatory 8- hour
firearm safety course and take a written test upon completion
and qualify with your weapon. The test is multiple choice
and should not be a problem passing for anyone from law
If you have a handgun you must first apply for a Blue Card, which is issued
by the Metropolitan Police Department at any Police sub-station or the Firearms
Training School. Once you have completed the 8-hour firearms safety course
you can submit your application to the Concealed Carry Weapon Unit of the Metropolitan
Police Department for processing. Fingerprinting is required and two fees,
one to the Nevada Highway Patrol in the amount of $39.00 and the second to
the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department for $60.00 must be paid.
The processing of your application will take approximately 120 days. Your Ten-13
Club is attempting to gain the support of the Metropolitan Police Department
to expedite former law enforcement officers with their applications.